CCC Beneficiary MS-INBRE Curriculum Improvement Grant

2013-10-28 | Press Release from Coahoma Community College Public Relations - Matthew E. Killebrew, Director; (662) 621-4157 - mkillebrew@coahomacc.eduBookmark and Share

Science students at Coahoma Community College will be benefitting from $25,000 worth of new lab equipment this spring, the result of being selected as a recipient of a MS-INBRE Curriculum Improvement Grant and funded by an Institutional Development Award (IDeA) from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences of the National Institutes of Health under grant number P20GM103476.

Along with a bevy of basic new lab equipment, CCC will use the money to purchase a new spectrometer, a pair of high-precision balances, a centrifuge and 18 Wolf Beta Microscopes. Director of Development Letha Richards spearheaded the Science Lab Improvement Project (SLIP) with the intent on increasing the number of Coahoma’s STEM graduates enrolling in STEM-related disciplines at four-year institutions.

STEM is an acronym for the fields of study in the categories of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.

Math and Science Chair Patricia Furdge will be charged with implementing the project that includes testing the students at the beginning and end of the semester to assess their knowledge, and also to follow the graduates for a year after graduation and help them become acclimated to their four-year Stem programs.

The new equipment will enable instructors to triple the number of labs CCC students will be able to participate in allowing them to conduct more hands-on experiments that will help to connect concepts learned in lectures.

The Science and Math Department is elated to receive the MS-INBREA Curriculum Improvement
Grant. The MS-INBREA Curriculum Improvement Grant award will allow us to continue to provide our students with practical hands on experiments that will help them succeed in their chosen career path,” said Furdge. “This grant will enable the Department to move with great momentum to increase student retention in STEM. Special thanks to Ms. Letha Richards for help in securing this grant.”