Gridiron Tigers Receive Postseason Honors

2013-11-18 | Press Release from Coahoma Community College Public Relations - Matthew E. Killebrew, Director; (662) 621-4157 - mkillebrew@coahomacc.eduBookmark and Share

Three of Coahoma Community Collegeís football players have received postseason recognition as Mississippi Community College Board Director of Activities Jim Southward announced the 2013 All-State and All-Region teams on Tuesday.

Sophomore offensive lineman Sylvester Townes was selected to both the All-State and All-Region first teams. The 6-foot-6-inch, 295-pound guard from Germantown, TN was the only Tiger to earn first team honors this season.

Townes has verbally committed to attend West Virginia to play football in the Big 12 Conference in Morgantown, WV for Mountaineers Head Football Coach Dana Holgorsen. He is expected to begin the next step of his football career this spring after graduating from CCC in December.

Sophomore defensive lineman Keeland McElrath earned second team honors after a season that saw him rack up 53 tackles, two quarterback sacks, one forced fumble and one fumble recovery. The 6-foot-6-inch, 295-pounder has verbally committed to play football next season for the Texas Tech Red Raiders and head coach Kliff Kingsbury in the Big 12 Conference. McElrath hails from Ripley, TN and will also leave Coahoma after graduating in December.

Also honored was Coahoma 6-foot-4-inch; 240-pound punter Cody Spears. The freshman had 70 punts this season for a total of 2,886 yards. He averaged 41.1 yards per punt, had a long punt of 60 yards, and pinned opponents inside their own 20-yard-lines seven times. Spears, who will be returning to CCC next season, also had six touchbacks. He hails from Pisgah, MS.

Four other Tigers were selected to play in this seasonís MACJC All-Star game that will take place on Dec. 5 in Booneville, MS on the campus of Northeast Mississippi Community College. Sophomore quarterback Quaintavous Peterson, from Shelby, MS; sophomore wide receiver Keenan Daniels, from McLaurin, MS; sophomore defensive back James Harmon from Lexington, MS; and sophomore defensive end Isiah Anderson, from Port Gibson, MS.

Kickoff for the All-Star game is scheduled for 2 p.m., in Booneville.