16 New Tigers Commit for 2014 Football Season

2014-02-07 | Press Release from Coahoma Community College Public Relations - Brittany Davis; (662) 621-4061 - bdavis@coahomacc.eduBookmark and Share

CLARKSDALE — Coahoma Community College has signed 16 athletes to become a part of the new era of Tiger Football under new Head Coach Karl Morgan. The former UCLA and Tampa Bay Buccaneers defensive lineman officially took over the program in late January and has hit the ground running.

“We’re excited about the first members of our 2014 recruiting class. We’ve only just begun the process of identifying and addressing our needs for this fall,” said Morgan. “This process will be ongoing and continuous until we start camp in August.”

Although national signing day has passed, Morgan and the Tigers will continue to recruit throughout the spring, and are firm believers that there is plenty of good talent still available throughout the state and country.

“We are going to follow UCLA basketball legend, John Wooden’s idea of being quick, but not in a hurry,” Morgan said. “Hopefully that philosophy will allow us to bring in the type of person and player we need to be competitive and to win. I truly believe there are a number of good players still available in Mississippi and across the country. We just have to do our homework and stay task-oriented on a daily basis.”

Morgan has been tasked with turning around a Tigers program that finished with just one win in 2013 while playing in arguably the toughest junior college conference in the country. The MACJC boasted three teams in the National Top 10 at season’s end — including National Champion East Mississippi. Five MACJC teams finished in the Top 20.

  Player   Position   Height   Weight   High School
1.   D'Jarius Journey   DL   6-2   255   Leflore County
2.   Darius Coleman   ATH   5-7   170   Leflore County
3.   Ke'Darrial Griffin   OL   6-3   270   Greenville-Weston
4.   Ozzie Smith   DB   5-11   175   Greenville-Weston
5.   Lee Jackson   DB   6-0   190   Natchez
6.   Andre Pruitt  QB   6-1   185   Shaw
7.   Justice Clay   DL   6-3   315   Shaw
8.   Xavius Loggins   DB   5-10   175   Shaw
9.   Keveon Shepherd   WR   5-10   180   Shaw
10.   Chris Segrest   DE   6-2   250   Port Gibson
11.   Josh Brown   OL   6-3   280   Port Gibson
12.   Johnathan Spivey   RB   6-0   180   Lake
13.   Dikembe Stewart   DL   6-2   315   Vicksburg
14.   Trendarius Anderson   RB   5-9   185   West Tallahatchie
15.   Phytrell Williams   LB   5-11   215   West Lowndes
16.   Brandon Wright   WR   6-2   195   Lake Cormorant