Coahoma’s Graves and Pearson Earn Postseason Honors

2014-03-21 | Press Release from Coahoma Community College Public Relations - Matthew E. Killebrew, Director; (662) 621-4157 - mkillebrew@coahomacc.eduBookmark and Share

CLARKSDALE — Two Coahoma Community College sophomore basketball players will get to lace up their basketball shoes one more time in representation of the Tigers when they travel to East Central Community College on Friday, April 11th to participate in the Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges (MACJC) All-Star Basketball Games.

Xavier Graves (Bassfield, MS) and Krystal Pearson (Cleveland, OH) will represent CCC and the MACJC North Division. Graves has also been recognized with another accolade being named to the MACJC’s North Division All-State Second Team.

Graves was a force inside for the Tigers this season nearly averaging a double-double on the season. The CCC big man averaged 13 points and pulled down nine rebounds in addition to blocking two shots a game this season.

Pearson was one of the Lady Tigers momentum setters pushing the pace of the game and helping CCC get out in transition. She averaged three points and three assists this season and shot 58 percent from the foul line and 36 percent from the floor.

The women’s contest begins at 5 p.m. and will be followed by the men’s matchup at the Brackeen-Wood Physical Education Building on the ECCC campus. Both games will be streamed at Access is also available on the ECCC Web site,

Members of the North Division women’s team are Pearson, Ashanti Spencer and Krystal Nailer, both of MS Delta; Carshava Sutton and Halle Knowles, both of Northwest; Lytia Coleman and Latoya Collins, both of Itawamba; Antionette Riddle, Northeast; and Takera Mitchell, Savannah Kimmons and Charmane Tims, all of East MS.

Don Edwards of Northwest will serve as head coach.

North Division men’s squad includes Graves, Tamarico Wilson, Holmes; Tristan Moore, Northwest; Alex Anderson, Jonathan McGee and Tory Rich, all of Itawamba; Johnny Rucker and Marquarius Boddie, both of MS Delta; Cameron Shorty, Northeast; and Devonn Ester, Nick Giles and Justin Kinsey, all of East MS.

Alternates are Rashon Coleman of Northwest and Billy Jackson of Coahoma.

Bubba Skelton of Northwest will serve as head coach.

Members of the South Division women’s squad are Samara Dingisway, MS Gulf Coast; Rajee McDonald, Hinds; Ashley Minor, Copiah-Lincoln; Tannijha Hughes, East Central; Katrina Littlepage and April Levy, both of Southwest; Kristian Sampson and Miaya Crowder, both of Meridian; Kaylan Hughes and Latisha McCullum, both of Jones County; and Shanta’ Echols and Kalisha Washington, both of Pearl River.

Alternates are Deandra Darjean of Pearl River, Hellanisa Young of MS Gulf Coast and Jessica Wilson of Copiah-Lincoln.

Brent Harris of Southwest will serve as head coach.

South Division men’s team includes Michael Vardaman, Copiah-Lincoln; Terrance Mujahid and Jacques Johnson, both of East Central; Dela Mayers, Hinds; Johnny Zuppardo, Jones County; Twymond Howard and Deione Weeks, both of Southwest; Corey Brister, Meridian; and Roger Woods, Chris Bilbro and Rashod Perkins, all of MS Gulf Coast.

Casey Carter of Southwest will serve as head coach.