2017 Athletic Banquet

Coahoma Football Banquet honors their best
Coahoma Community College’s Athletic Department hosted a banquet to honor the members of the 2017 Tiger Football Team.

Coahoma Football Banquet Honors Their Best

Press Release from Coahoma Community College Public Relations; (662) 621-4044 - Vashon Jones - vjones@coahomacc.edu


Fri Nov 17, 2017

2017 Athletic Banquet

CLARKSDALE –Coahoma Community College’s Athletic Department hosted a banquet to honor the members of the 2017 Tiger Football Team including the graduating sophomores on Wednesday night. The banquet was held in the Magnolia Room of the Zee A. Barron Student Union.

Head Coach Steven Miller and his coaching staff honored various players, staff and supporters for their hard work on and off the field. Coahoma Interim Athletic Director Reggy Hankerson and Assistant Athletic Director/Trainer Selina Reid were in attendance as well.

There were various awards given to players on offense, defense and special teams.  Other special awards were also given.

Two players were awarded the Offensive Captain award. This award went to C’Tavius Williams and Eric Moore. Williams and Moore have started every game in their careers at Coahoma Community College.

Two players were awarded the Defensive Captain award. This award went to Cecil Cherry and Daveon Brister. Cherry led the Tigers in tackles this season. He also is MACJC Linebacker of the Year, MACJC All State First Team and All Region 24 Team. Brister has started every game in his career at Coahoma.

The Most Improved player award went to Maurice Collins. He stepped in as a starter on the offensive line for an injured Diante Brocks.  Collins created a lot of holes for the running backs and protected the quarterback very well.

The Most Unselfish Tiger award went to Devin Griffin. Griffin started at wide receiver a season ago. Going into this season, the wide receiver core was deep. He did everything in his power to lead the unit and make plays to help his team win.

The Newcomer of the Year award went to Jordan Harris. Harris came as a transfer from Decatur, GA. He became a big edition to the offensive line. He anchored an offense that averaged over 319 yards per game including 162 yards rushing and 156 yards passing.

The Most Inspirational Tiger award went to Joshua Joiner. Joiner worked hard in the offseason and was slated to start.  Although, he didn’t make the starting lineup in week 1, when his name was called, Joiner made an impact on the field by making plays for the Tigers defense.

The CCC Leadership award went to Braxton Brown. Brown started every game for the Tigers this season. Brown stepped in to lead his team on and off the field. He made sure the players listened to their coaches and attend their classes.

The Scholar Athlete award went to Davion Taylor. Taylor started every game for the Tigers this season. He was second on the team in tackles. He made big plays on the field and in the classroom. Taylor maintains 3.6 GPA in all his courses.

The Special Teams MVPs are Marquavious Hollins and Deshun Gibson. Hollins and Gibson made a huge impact on special teams. They made big tackles on kickoffs and punts. They also made good blocks on returns.

The Defensive MVP is Antonio Nelson. Nelson has started every game in his career at Coahoma. He is the leader of the Tigers secondary that makes big plays. Nelson had 38 tackles including 31 solos, seven assists, four pass breakups, two interceptions, one tackle for loss and a sack. He also made the MACJC All State First Team.

The Offensive MVP is Josh Johnson. Johnson was the heart and soul of Coahoma’s offense. He had 204 carries for 1101 yards and eight touchdowns, including six 100 yard games this season. He also had a school record 324 yards and four touchdowns against Mississippi Delta Community College.

The Coahoma Football MVP is Cecil Cherry. Cherry made plays all over the field for the Tigers. He had 104 tackles including 72 solos, 32 assists and 8 tackles for loss.

Coach Miller also honored the members of the 2017 MACJC All State Team. Josh Johnson, C.T. Williams and Jordan Harris made 1st team MACJC ALL-STATE NORTH offense. Damien Kemp made 2nd team MACJC ALL-STATE NORTH offense. Cecil Cherry, Da'Mon Kemp and Antonio Nelson made 1st team MACJC ALL-STATE NORTH defense.

Thank you to Tiger Nation for your love and support this season. Congratulations and thank you to the graduating sophomores for your hard work and dedication to this team.

For more photos, visit our Facebook page.