CCC honors students during Presidential Scholars program
CLARKSDALE – Coahoma Community College celebrated its top students, as well as recipients of community-based scholarships, Monday during the Spring 2016 Presidential Scholars program.

CCC honors students during Presidential Scholars program

Press Release from Coahoma Community College Public Relations; (662) 621-4061 - Brittany Davis-Green - bdavis@coahomacc.edu


Wed Apr 20, 2016


CCC President Dr. Valmadge Towner, center, along with Spring 2016 Presidential/Dean Scholars.

CLARKSDALE – Coahoma Community College celebrated its top students, as well as recipients of community-based scholarships, Monday during the Spring 2016 Presidential Scholars program.

During the annual program, in the Zee A. Barron Student Union’s Magnolia Room, 21 students were recognized as Presidential Scholars for maintaining at least a 3.76 grade point average (GPA) and 25 students who maintained at least a 3.5 GPA were recognized as Dean Scholars. Community scholarship recipients were also honored during the event.

“We’re so grateful to honor these students who have demonstrated exemplary academic achievement, exceptional leadership, and a great commitment to community service,” said CCC Dean of Academic Affairs Rolonda Brown, who presided over the program. “We truly have some amazing students here at CCC.”

Minister Tauren B. Morton, who gave an inspiring address encouraging students to stay “high” on excellence and success, highlighted the program as the speaker.

“You’re here today because you have a high GPA, set of morals, ambition ... however, the law of gravity states, ‘what goes up, must come down,’” said Morton. “Today, scholars, you’re going to defy the law of gravity.”

Morton gave scholars two key points to help them in maintaining their high on success.

“You have to surround yourself with other people who like to get high—who don’t think it’s lame to study, and someone who appreciates your gifts and uniqueness,” said Morton. “If you really want to blow you high, surround yourself with people with no goals.”

He also admonished students to be prepared for the storms of life.

“Hard times are going to come, but don’t let them blow your high,” he said. “Whenever storms come, like an eagle, spread your wings and allow the storm to lift you higher—what doesn’t kill you will make you stronger.”

Morton closed by stressing the importance of giving back.

“Don’t forget where you come from, but don’t let it define you,” he said.

Those students recognized as Presidential Scholars were: Stephanie Chisolm of Rosedale, MS; Emerald Elrod of Clarksdale, MS; Kimberleigh Forbes of Clarksdale, MS; Carolyn Fullwiley of Batesville MS; LaShondria Gooden of Clarksdale, MS; Julia Hearns of Duncan, MS; JaCorey Johnson of Lyon, MS; Justin Johnson of Clarksdale, MS; Katelin Landfair of Clarksdale, MS; Loliette McKinney of Robinsonville, MS; Tanessha Mosby of Clarksdale, MS; Marilyn Mylies of Dundee, MS; Carolyn Palmer of Marks, MS; Gabrielle Scott of Gunnison, MS; Mary Shields of Tunica, MS; Wendy Smith of Cleveland, MS; Sandy Tomlinson of Lyon, MS; Deion Warren of Mound Bayou, MS; Christopher Wilson of Clarksdale, MS; Tiffany Wolfe of Clarksdale, MS; and Tre’Voris Word of Southaven, MS.

Students recognized as Deans Scholars were: Shalonda Bass of Tunica, MS; Debra Black of Drew, MS; Roslin Bradley of Clarksdale, MS; Cailey Carpenter of Cleveland, MS; Rashad Cox of Clarksdale, MS; Sharika George of Clarksdale, MS; Stehpney Gort of Cleveland, MS; Vyuanna Harrington of Indianola, MS; Carrie Hicks of Marks; Keelandra Holden of Clarksdale, MS; Jalen Honorable of Rosedale, MS; Alexander Huddleston of Web, MS; Cameron Humphrey of Clarksdale, MS; Naomi Lofton of Clarksdale, MS; Nyesha Lynn of Indianola, MS; Kiranmai Madadi of Shelby, MS; Destiny Monix of Clarksdale, MS; Latiana Myles of Clarksdale, MS; Marykimisa Nolan of Frairs Point, MS; Pambula Pryor of Lambert, MS; Erykah Savery of Clarksdale, MS; Jamal Short of Charleston, MS; Javones Smith of Rosedale, MS; David Thomas of Clarksdale, MS; and Kezia Walker of Clarksdale, MS.

Scholarship recipients included:

  • Delta Sigma Theta, Inc. Fannie Lou Hamer Scholarship—Keiona Word of Clarksdale, MS
  • Bennie S. Gooden Sr. Scholarship—Hertayshia Thomas of Friars Point, MS
  • MS Foundation for Education and Economic Development Scholarship—Jayla Miller of Clarksdale, MS, Hertayshia Thomas of Friaris Point, MS, and Kylerrisha Jones of Clarksdale, MS
  • Alpha Kappa Alpha Scholarship—Cortise Brown of Jackson, MS
  • Roosevelt Wade Scholarship— Jayla Miller of Clarkdale, MS and Ginger Millwood of Clarksdale, MS
  • Dr. McKinley C. Martin Scholarship—Raterrius Shegog of Memphis, TN and Brittanie Washington of Ridgeland, MS
  • Vivian M. Presley Scholarship— Caroline Palmer of Marks, MS
  • Lillian Rogers-Johnson Scholarship—Shonna Russell of Clarksdale, MS
  • Frank W. Gambrell Scholarship— Ashley Miller of Shelby, MS
  • M.L. Thomas Scholarship— Gabriel Scott of Gunnison, MS and Sandy Tomlinson of Lyon, MS
  • Jospehine Bogues Scholarship— Lashantat Hawkins of Clarksdale, MS; Jakeria Strong of Clarksdale, MS; Jamiraqua Jones of Lambert, MS; and Deion Warren of Mound Bayou, MS.

CLICK HERE to view more photos from the event!